Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Countries should not isolate themselves from the world but instead engage other countries.

More and more countries, such as Iran and Cuba, are breaking out of their isolation and starting to negotiate trade deals with other countries. This, however, leads to the discussion whether it is advantageous for countries to stop the isolation and open to other countries. In my opinion, isolated nations can only gain materialistic and non-materialistic wealth, if they engage with other nations. I feel this for two reason, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, todays grand global challenges, such as security, climate change or sustainable economy, cannot solved by one country alone rather a collaboration of many countries. For example, if China is not able to reduce its pollution until 2030, it will not only effect China but also countries on the other side of the world, such as Netherlands or Denmark. Moreover, the security of a country is only as good as its collaboration with his partner nations. Before the terrorist attack in Manchester, the British police and security agencies could stop five other terrorist attacks including a suicide attack on a German diplomat. This was only possible due to international organizations such as Interpol and Europol. Accordingly, every aspect of today’s challenges is connected and can only be overcome when countries works together.

Secondly, if countries open their boarders to other countries, people will drop their prejudices towards foreigners and will start to understand other cultures. This could automatically lead to a peaceful world. For instance, in Europe, there is peace for almost 70 years due to the intergovernmental organization, the European Union (EU). Countries opened themselves for the idea of a unified a Europe. Moreover, the EU not only stabilized the area, but also was major supporter for exchange of culture in Europe. With the freedom of traveling within Europe without a visa, the Europeans have a better understanding of each other. It is now almost unimaginable that a war between two European nations could possibly break the peace in Europe. For this reason, isolated countries should engage other countries for a peaceful world.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is advantageous for isolated nations to collaborate with other nations and intergovernmental organizations. This is because, todays grand challenges can only be solved together and because, it will also promote a better understanding between different cultures, which subsequently leads to a peaceful world.