Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Explain why.

Studying vocabulary by memorizing definitions is not helpful for improving spoken communication.

Nowadays you will see that technology specialists, language experts, and language hobbyists alike have been creating many vocabulary applications to help people in word memorization. While some people believe these applications will help people in spoken communication, some others think that studying vocabulary by memorizing definitions are not essential. I strongly agree that memorizing the definitions of words is helpful for improving oral communication.

First, we need to understand that vocabulary is one of the foundations of language. Without knowing words, we are left with gestures as means of communication. Even worse, we won’t be able to communicate things beyond our environment. For example, we won’t be able to discuss abstract things, such as the future, the imagination, and the dreams. With many vocabulary stored inside our brains, we can build proper sentences, tell some stories, and speak our minds. We cannot speak fluently if we don’t have many words inside to tell.

Second, the more vocabulary we know, the richer the way we look at the world. Gathering a lot of vocabulary by memorization enables us to get the nuances of human minds. It enriches the way we think. For example, we commonly use the word hungry to describe our need of food. But we use the word peckish, it captures more meaning and subtlety about someone’s level of hunger. Also, someone can be angry without being furious.

On the other hand, I also understand that memorizing many vocabulary does not always result in good spoken communication. If you do not practice speaking as often as possible, you won’t be able to improve your spoken communication despite the rich vocabulary you have. Good speaking is not guaranteed by large database of vocabulary. But bad speaking is guaranteed by limited vocabulary.

All in all, I still think that even though vocabulary memorization is not enough in improving your oral communication, it is still the basic of speaking in any languages. Without the vocabulary, you will flunk your oral communication.