Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Grades marks encourage students to learn Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

The method of grading has been used in the education system for quite a while. This technique was thought to be effective until recently with educators, students and parents raising questions on the education system and how it needs to be reformed. In my opinion, grading prevents students from learning and I will discuss the reasons to support my opinion below.

Firstly, the definition of intelligence is so broad and subjective, that it makes little sense in confining it to set standards and quantifying it. To illustrate, the use of mark schemes means that I will only receive a mark if my answer matches the one presented on the mark scheme. While this may work for subjects such as Math, it seems unfair to make use of it for subjects such as English. I remember during my junior year, we were asked to analyze the text given for our English assignment. All of our answers were different but still valid as we analyzed the text through our perspective, however, most of us did not score well just because our answers were different from what the mark scheme expected. This demotivated us and made us lose interest in our classes.

Another problem that arises is the introduction of competition. By quantifying our performance, it becomes easier and even tempting for students to compare themselves to others, even if it does not provide an accurate picture of someone’s intelligence. Because of this, students no longer study for the sake of seeking knowledge, rather their only aim is to gain good marks. For them, success is being better than another person. I became a victim of comparing myself to others during the last year of middle school. Up until then, I was the one achieving the highest grades and seeing a new girl in class take my position was unbearable for me. I studied day and night to get better grades than her, and even when I did, the satisfaction I received from my so-called success was short-lived. This was because my only motivation for studying was to be better than someone else rather than learning and getting satisfaction from understanding and learning a new topic.

The grading system also stifles the innate trait to be curious. Students know that they can gain marks if they can memorize answers or only the material they will be tested on and so do not go beyond understanding what is taught in class. Studying further or researching an area of their interest seems like a waste of time because they would not receive marks for it. This means that there is no actual learning going on and students limit their education to learning what is necessary and hyper fixating on their grade.

In short, the grading system inhibits students from learning. It introduces unwanted competition and the grading of answers turns into a tick-boxing system where you receive a mark for every answer that matches the expected answer. Along with these, the biggest damage it does is discourage curiosity which is one of the biggest factor that can help us learn effectively.