Do you agree or disagree with the following statement ?

If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that could be more satisfying.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

For the past few years, unemployment has been one of the most problematic issues for many people. Therefore, in my opinion, to hold that people should refuse to get a secure job to wait for a more satisfying one is an example of irrational thinking. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, getting a secure job is the opportunity that not everyone is fortunate enough to have and it surely helps people earn a living. That is to say, many university graduates are not able to find a job related to their major, some of them are even unemployed. They have to struggle a lot to pay numerous bills since they are already mature and thus, they cannot always rely on their parents when it comes to money. For that reason, they ought to take any chance to have a permanent job to have money for their lives. My brother's experience is a good example for this. When he graduated from university 5 years ago, he was fortunately offered a position in a international company. However, he had to work in the office all the time, which he didn't quite enjoy. That being said, he took my parents' advice to take the job anyway in order to make his first hard-earned money. After 5 years of hard-work, he was able to be promoted and he is having a well-paid job now. If he had wasted his time finding a more satisfying job, he wouldn't have been as successful as he is.

Furthermore, with a secure job, people can afford their hobbies of any kind. To put it another way, with a permanent job, people can pay for their basic needs as well as their leisure activities. Although their jobs may not be fascinating and delightful, they can compensate for it by other activities, which is affordable with their salary. Some people spend their money on vacations, others use it to collect cars to satisfy themselves. As I mentioned above, my brother doesn't enjoy his occupation very much. Despite that, he manages to find pleasure with trips to visit many magnificent places around the world, which he can only afford because of his job.

Owing to all the reasons mentioned above, I truly feel that people shouldn't hesitate taking a secure job. This is because getting a job is the opportunity for one to make ends meet and with a permanent job, people can afford all kinds of leisure.