Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Improving transportation is the best way for governments to promote economic growth. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I am of the opinion that improving transportation can increase the economic growth of a country. Although this is not the only factor that would contribute to the growth of the economy, it plays a significant role in economic prosperity, as a poor transportation system is an underlying threat to a country’s financial well-being.

An improved transportation system would allow people to travel quickly from one place to another. The need for efficient travel is mostly felt by the working population of the country, as they are required to travel to and fro work within their region and sometimes even abroad. Enhancing transport would mean that less time and money are spent commuting. For example, if public transportation is introduced in areas dense with offices, companies could save the cost of arranging private transportation for their employees. This could also save time as public transports, such as metros, take a different route from cars, thus avoiding traffic.

An added benefit of improved transportation is the possible opportunity for increased tourism. This created an additional revenue stream for the country, thus improving the economy. For example, a town in my country, albeit being a photographer's dream, only had a handful of local visitors. The only drawback was that the road infrastructure was not up to the mark, making the journey extremely dangerous. However, since the government took steps to improve the roads, tourism in this region has been booming.

In short, I strongly believe that improving transportation can quicken the economic growth of a country. Not only does it allow people, such as office workers, to reach their destinations quickly, therefore reducing cost and time spent on traveling, rather it also creates a new revenue source for a country through expansion of tourism.