Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critical that everyone can study from sources they prefer. Personally, I think that using the internet is more beneficial than using printed resources. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in my subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, by typing in a few keywords on the browser, we are able to gain information with less time than browsing through paper books. There are abundant resources, from websites to videos, available on the internet at all times, and we can find sources that help with a certain research one’s working on. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About a year ago, I had a history poster assignment, and I decided to gain information from the school’s library. Unfortunately, most articles were too long or difficult and were specialized on a certain topic, thus it consumed a lot of my time to find the suitable sources for my research paper. However, after shifting my main research sources to the internet, I was able to search the content that fitted with what I wanted to know with less time. Moreover, those materials were written that matched with my reading abilities, which made the topic understandable for me. If I hadn’t changed to accumulating my sources through the internet, I would have taken a lot more time and effort to obtain the facts I needed for my research.

Secondly, new works are published constantly on the internet, which allows users to get the most recent facts. There are critics saying that the internet that might not be as trustworthy as published books and articles, but the internet provides us with more up-to-date facts than paper materials. Drawing from my experience, when I was analysing the number of cases of traffic accidents for the research assignment in my health class, I realized that the records on my textbook were from fifteen years ago. I thought that I should use more recent numbers because there have been medical and technical advances and changes made in traffic rules over several years. So, instead of using the textbook source, I searched online to gain the newest resource available and used it for my project. If I had used the old graphs on my paper book, I wouldn’t have been able to complete an accurate report.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that using online resources is advantageous over printed materials. This is because searching on the internet is more time-efficient, and because it provides more recent and accurate information than paper resources.