Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at people opinions toward public transportation brings to light a question that has been provoked a debate, namely, whether the Internet access can be more important than transportation facilities. The answer depends on some different factors and it is not possible to have the same conclusion for all people. In my opinion, in Atlanta, where I live, Internet access is crucial and vital.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that in big cities like Atlanta, there are several highways which encourage people to use their own cars and public transportation is not the major issue. people are educated and prefer to drive their own vehicle instead of wasting the time to wait for buses or trains. There are two well-known universities, Georgia State University and Georgia Institute of Technology which attract students from all over the world. In this environment, better Internet speed and access, is the first concern for student because they have to search through google or find information from online resources. Therefore, I vote for better Internet to study faster an easier.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that people normally live in suburban areas and it is nearly impossible to construct metro stations all over the state. For example, for people who live in Johns creek, it takes 2 hours to reach downtown if they want to use public transportation and even if there was any Marta station there, few people would like to use it and it is not economical to spend too much budget on something that very limited people use it. Instead, if the Internet connection is excellent, assist people to work remotely and do not commute. Thus, public transportation does not make life easier at all.

Admittedly, there are several benefits to have public transportation such as less pollution and less traffic. In some cities like New York, the population is that much high that nobody can tolerate traffic and people prefer to ride metro. Nevertheless, this concern is not substantial in Atlanta which has about two millions population. Hence, for some other cities, public transportation is a definite solution.

Due to aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I would suggest to governor to spend more money on the Internet rather than public transportation.