Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is not necessary for university students to attend classes as long as they can pass their examinations.

Without a shadow of doubt, since the dawn of modern era, university has played a prominent role in every individual’s life. In fact, the necessity of university is characterized by all the momentous changes it has made in human’s future and success. In this context, the controversial question which arises regarding this issue is whether it should be obligatory for students to participate in courses physically or it is possible for them not to participate in classes provided that they can pass their examinations. As far as I am concerned, being present in classes, far from having mere scholastic role, would itself be instructive for students in different respects. In what follows, I will delve into the most compelling reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first remarkable point to be mentioned is that the university courses are not unilateral as were they in the past. It means that they are highly deliberative so that students can play as much important role as teachers can. Thus, not only does participating in classes not mean passive presence, but it also means active contribution toward debates and discussions which will boost students’ self-confidence and their tolerance and sociability. Furthermore, due to the fact that in response to these changes, the criteria on which the assessments are based have altered respectively, a plethora of courses are ended up without any final examination and the final score would be just based on the subjective evaluation of the teacher during the semester.

In this respect, it should be also taken into account that today there are a myriads of online courses in which students can participate; however, there are still some courses in specific fields like philosophy and social sciences that are not substitutable with the online ones. These courses which have no pre-given materials, are purely dependent on spontaneous knowledge of students and their argumentation competences. In other words, in such a courses, teachers just raise a question or state a case study and then students try to conceive each other. Given the latter type of courses, it seems necessary for the students to participate in the courses which provide such an opportunity otherwise they lack. Take a personal experience as example: being a student of engineering, I rarely participated in university courses, but when I changed my field to human science, I then found how important attending classes might be.

To put it briefly, if one weighs the merits and demerits of the aforementioned statement, one soon realizes that prior to participating in classes, students prefer to do something else like doing business. However, being present in courses would have some undeniable achievements for them. So, despite the consensus, I highly suggest that authorities of university make it compulsory for students to participate in classes especially in specific fields. In fact, there are a myriad of other reasons, supporting the above statement, which could be mentioned but are not embraced due to the dearth of time.