Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? As long as they meet deadlines and attend meetings, company employees should be allowed to work any hours they choose. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

Not many years ago, strict rules were laid out surrounding work hours. Office hours were set and employees were expected to work within this time period. However, in light of factors, such as people wanting to have a work-life balance or the recent lockdowns during the epidemic, these policies have loosened up.

The vast majority of the working population, specifically parents, wish to balance their work and everyday life. Unlike in the past, today’s parents want to prioritize spending time with their families and friends rather than being a workaholic. Instead of looking after their children while working at the same time, they prefer to divide time amongst both these duties. For example, parents may work when their children are at school, and tend to them when they are at home.

Besides parents, there are students who work a part-time job, or sometimes, a full-time one, in order to pay their tuition fees or to gain experience. Nonetheless, it is crucial for them to manage their time efficiently. Students may prefer to work more hours on the weekend, accommodating time to study during the week.

In the end, companies are concerned about the end results. As long as the staff meets deadlines and attends meetings, how an employee reaches these milestones should be left for them to decide. The lockdowns that were sanctioned due to the COVID-19 epidemic, are proof that this method of working is not only feasible, but also worthwhile, since companies saw better performance as employees were better motivated due to improved job satisfaction.