Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: The most effective way for government to encourage energy conservation is increasing the price of gasoline and electricity.

Energy reservation is an ever-lasting theme among today's society. Some argue that marking the gasoline and electricity up is the most effective means. It may seem like reasonable at first glance, but you will realize it does not hold water if having a closer look.

Admittedly, raising the price of gasoline and electricity makes sense somewhat. For example, when finding the high price of these resources, a working-class father may end up consuming less. That is, he will put more emphasis on how to save resources in order to save money, such as reminding his troublemaker son put off the light when leaving a room, turning his transportation means from driving private car to taking subway and so forth. However, to say increasing the price of gasoline and electricity is an overstatement.

For starters, the rising price may not take effect in most families. Living in such a world undergoing constant changes, as we marvel at the advancement of technology and economy, we earn more money than ever before. That is, an increasing number of high-skilled citizens are capable of affording their consumer goods, even their price has grown. My uncle's experience can serve as a compelling case for this point. My uncle is a PhD graduated from Yale and has been accepted as a financial analysis in Google Corporation, making generous wages. So it is hard to imagine he will decrease his consume of resources, like gasoline and electricity. Besides, it is obvious that people are less likely to be affected by the high price. As known to all, the housing price in Beijing is growing uninterruptedly, whereas there is still a great quantity of ones who crave for buying a house there, no matter they can afford, as they can borrow capital from banks and their demand for houses is giant undoubtedly. Thus, it is senseless to increase the price of gasoline and electricity.

In addition, there are other methods can resist individuals' urge for wasting resources, like elevating people's awareness of protecting our environment. If governments take action to add some resources-conserving advertises and recordings through multi-media or education in schools, publicizing awareness of saving resources, people can gain better understanding of the hazards will be brought by depletion of resources. In this case, they stand a better chance to actively avoid wasting resources. Therefore, if people had not been exposed to the dangers we may encounter, they would never have had a hand in leading more economical lives.

All in all, despite the dubious merits, high price of gasoline and electricity is definitely not the best way to conserve resources but instead one of them.