Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important investment of a company is to improve the skills of its employees.

Nowadays, there is a heated discussion about what makes for a good company. Some people argue that enhancing the skills of its employees plays the most important role. However, although it is important to have a high level of workers overall, it is not the most important for a company's growth.

Admittedly, enhancing employees' ability is conducive to a company's growth. Providing training for workers will improve their workability, helping them be more familiar with their job responsibility and build confidence about having a good performance. It also increases the job satisfaction by learning new knowledge and implementing them into the workplace. It is also good for job commitment as people feel their jobs are rewarding and worthwhile. When having lots of high ability workers working together, the company usually maintains a high level of efficiency and creativity, which contributes to company's overall performance. Also, talents attract more talents. Such a talent pool will be a dream workplace for those outstanding undergraduates as they hope to work with the same smart and competent people because they feel they can make great progress by learning from each other. So it will lead to a positive circle and benefits the company as a whole. Therefore, it is a real worthy investment for the company due to these benefits.

However, the employee is never the only element of a company. Other factors, such as the leader or the technology also have a huge impact on the company.

Without a good manager or a good CEO, a team or a company cannot function well. If we say employees with high ability are the skillful soldier in the battle, the leader is the general which determines the whole tactic and guides the whole army in a right direction. Without leader's effort to gather all the talents together, employees might not build the strong bond with each other or even go against each other. In this case, the whole teach cannot make any accomplishment no matter how competent teammates are. For example, I worked with two skillful schoolmates to work on a paper last semester. They both got a nice grade and had a rich experience doing the research. However, we ended up finishing the paper roughly because we all were all busy with our own tasks but not worked together. We could have had a great performance if we were assigned the tasks. Without the guidance of the leader, no one started to work on the paper and we waiting until the last minute to do it, leaving no time to polish and review.

Without the help of technology, the company performance suffers too. As for the product-oriented company, how to improve their products to the best in the market or how to improve their streamline with the highest efficiency is the essence of the company. As for the service-oriented company, how to collect and analysis their data to have a glimpse of their customers' thought pattern and behaviors and then use it to make product improvement or development is their priority too. Technology becomes more and more importance under the big data period. Apple, Microsoft or Google all invest a huge amount of money investing VR technology or Artificial Intelligence. The cutting-edge technology helps to the company maintaining competitive in the industry and attracts more and more customers. Technology also benefits the inner development of the company. How to have an effective internal message management system, how to make a high-tech inventory record all requires high-end technology. As a result, the company cannot overlook the effect of the tech and pay the same attention to as it does to the talents.

There are so many factors contributes to the success of the company. Improving the ability of workers is an important but not the important factor.