Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves.

Living in such a world undergoing constant changes, an increasing number of individuals has access to formal education. Some argue that the key purpose of education for ones is to foster the capability of educating themselves. However, I hold that there are more purposes of education worth celebrating.

Admittedly, educating oneself is an irreplaceable purpose of education. Chances are high that oftentimes people have to study without the help of anyone else. For example, when my cousin was a freshman, he failed to adapt himself to the new surroundings, as he was used to be tutored by his teachers in his high school. Without the capability of educating himself, he failed an examination in the end of this semester. Thus, it is obvious that teaching oneself serves as a significant goal in education. However, to say it is the most crucial purpose when educating is an overstatement.

For starters, education improves the civilization of our society. In China specifically, education reform began with the opening up and reform period of 1980's. Moreover, China opened up economy and changed from a state run economy to a marker economy. This market economy made it possible for the development of the middle class. Historically throughout the world, education belonged to social elites. Yet, people from lower class outnumber these upper class people, hence it is the middle class that decides a society. Nowadays, the middle class is a group of people who is not necessarily social elites but can afford the education. Thanks to the availability of education, smart ones from the middle class have access to elevate technology and infrastructures, like the advent of computer, Internet, submarine and so forth. Yet, if the education had never been available for the public, we would never have been allowed to live in a civilized society currently, which to a great extent offers ones more convenient and comfortable lives. Thus, boosting the advancement of our society is also a considerable purpose of education.

In addition, enriching knowledge is also important. For instance, one with strong ability of oral English stands a better chance to enjoy a foreign traveling. Since he has access to communicate with local people, he can avoid to get lost on the street and have a more profound understanding of its culture. Besides, having a command of Knowledge of Internet enables ones to outperform others in works or studies, as they are more likely to finish an online assignment efficiently and brilliantly. Therefore, not only education functions as a catalyst of civilization, but it also allows people enrich knowledge and hence enjoy their lives.

All in all, it is safe to conclude that educating oneself is not the most important goal in education, instead it should be one of them.