Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For most jobs or areas of work, understanding the limits of your knowledge is more important than the knowledge you have. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some believe that employees should be aware of the limits of their knowledge, while others are of the opinion that they should understand the knowledge they have previously acquired. I am among the former group for reasons that I will explain in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, no job can be done effectively without the understanding of what goes into the work and what the expected output is. During work, it is necessary to put prior knowledge into practice using appropriate methods. This helps strengthen the concepts of the subject matter as we see it being used in real life. For example, a student can learn accounting methods during their time at university, but may not fully understand how to use them for real-life data and how to prepare reports that are up to the industry standard. However, by applying their knowledge in the workplace, they can be guided to better understand the methods to do this. The fact that previous knowledge is going to be of use and will be further improved through practical use is undeniable.

While understanding the basic concepts of a subject matter is essential, one is not expected to know everything when they start working. As seeking further knowledge is the right of an employee, companies have specialized training programs for their staff. It is of utmost importance that employees seek guidance from experts in the areas of their field. They should be aware of what they are lacking and request for training from the management if needed. Being aware of their shortcomings can allow them to grow and be competent in their area of work. Only then can they perform to their full potential. If employees only rely on the knowledge they have, they may feel that they know enough and do not require any training. This can lead to complacency as they will think they have no room for improvement. This can lead to further problems such as mediocre performance and disagreements.

In short, it would be wrong to say that understanding the knowledge you have is not necessary to do a job, but in order to do a job well, people should understand where they are lacking, so that they can have a motive to seek further knowledge and be proficient in their fields. By just focusing on what they already know, people’s abilities will be confined to the limits of their preliminary education.