Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to succeed in a new job, the ability to adapt oneself to the new environment is more important than having profound knowledge about this job.

In this fiercely competitive society, achieving a success career is considered vital important by most individuals and plenty of new graduates complain about that it is hard to succeed in a new job position. Although some people argue that the ability of adaptation to a new environment is more important when starting a new job, from my perspective, I still hold the belief that it is more helpful for freshmen to have profound knowledge and professional skills when they are at the beginning point of their career.

To begin with, there is nothing but a solid professional background could help new graduates to become outstanding in their new job position. We could imagine that, if a person knows nothing about his job and always make stupid mistakes in his job, he or she would absolutely be fired by his or her manager. Therefore, one cannot stay long on the job position without an abundant storage of professional skills related to the job.

In addition, a lack of deep understand of the job position could prevent a person from future development in this area, which means that he or she could only deal with the fundamental work in the company rather than enter the core of the area he or she worked for. As a result, he or she could just work as a small clerk in the company so that the true success would never come to him or her even if he or she has a strong adaptation to the new environment.

Admittedly, the ability to adapt oneself to the new environment could not be ignored when starting a new job. which could make one person get accustomed to the new job relatively faster than others. However, this kind of ability is not the key factor of a success career. People who do not handle this ability well could also get used to the new job after spending a slightly longer time period. Also, a deep learning of the area of the job could speed up this process so that it is acceptable for a person to have a weak ability of adaptation if he or she do maintain a solid professional background about this job.

In conclusion, although some people tend to highlight the importance of the ability of adaptation, it could not weaken the essence of the solid storage of the professional knowledge when starting a brand new job as is proved by reasons and examples presented above.