Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Since the dawn of civilization, parents have had one of the greatest role in people's lives from all around the world, for they have had one of the most prominent influence on changes in their lives. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that nowadays, young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives compared to the past whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. From my vantage point, it is crystal clear that today's young people can make decisions about their life considerably better since not only can they use the internet for their decisions, but also they read a greater number of books compared to the past as well. The following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my perspective.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that so influential has the internet been that it has had abundant positive effects in people's lives, yet above all it has helped people from all around the world solve their problems, and consequently, they are able to make the best decision about their own life by themselves. An example will illustrate this view point much better. Highly interested in using the internet, my friend had to make a decision about his career life, and subsequently, he tried to figure out the details about some types of jobs, in which he was interested, by means of the internet. Thereby, he is working as a programmer in a company since then, for by searching the internet, he could comprehend that he really loves programming. I firmly believe that had he asked his parents for choosing his career, he could not have chosen this remarkable decision, and therefore, most of today's young people are better able to make decisions about their life by their own.

Furthermore, it is established beyond doubt that on the one hand some people believe that in the past, young people were better able to make decisions about their own life since they were not dependent to their parents as much as now, yet on the other hand some people believe that today's young people are better able to make decisions by their own due to the fact that they are more knowledgeable and know things much better. I firmly agree with the latter view point, for I believe that the more people become knowledgeable, the more they can choose the best decisions in their lives. By way of illustration, a recent empirical study conducted by University of California Los Angeles, which catch you off guard, reveals that nowadays, a high percentage of people, most of whom are among the youth, choose the decisions about their life by their own since they are adept enough to choose the best decision.

To wrap it up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that nowadays, young people make decisions related to their own lives better by their own compared to the past inasmuch as in the first place, they can use the internet to choose the best decision, and in the second place, they are more knowledgeable by virtue of reading a great number of books. The most I can hope for, and it is not a small hope, is that in the not too distant future people will make the best decisions ever in their lives, for whereby, they can help their society improve, and as a proverb says "the biggest room in the world, is the room for improvement" I firmly believe that it is prominent for us to help our society's breakthrough.