Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People should

sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. Use specific reasons

and examples to support your answer.

People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing

The topic under discussion is whether people should do things that they don’t want to. Well, no one wants to do the things that they don’t like to do. But, this is not what happens in reality. Almost everyone has to do things they do not enjoy doing. So, I agree with the statement that people should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing because of the following specific reasons.

First, considering working people, it is not always possible to get a desired job and therefore, sometimes people end up with jobs that they don’t enjoy doing. For instance, a security guard has to be awake all night when he is on duty. Obviously, he doesn’t enjoy it. But, he is obliged to do it because it pays him only with which he can support his family. Security guard is just an example. Most of the people don’t end up with their dream jobs and many of them don’t enjoy doing their jobs. They just do so to support themselves and their family.

Second, sometimes to achieve what we desire for, we have to do things that we don’t like to do. For instance, considering me as an example, I love engineering and want to become a good engineer. To become a good engineer I have to earn a degree and to earn a degree I have to pass all the exams. Now, I get nervous during exams and I definitely don’t enjoy giving them. Still, I attend those exams because it is the only way to fulfil my dream of becoming a good engineer. Hence, sometimes to achieve greater things, one might have to do things that he/she doesn’t enjoy doing.

Also, sometimes a person might have to do some things so as not to hurt the people he/she loves. Again, considering me as an example, I don’t like romantic movies in my mother tongue because they seem mawkish to me. Still, I had to go to a romantic movie just because all the other members of my family wanted to watch that movie. Hence, sometimes one has to do things for the sake of people he/she loves.

Thus, life shows us many situations where a person has to do things that he/she doesn’t enjoy doing. Hence, I think that a people should sometimes do things that they don’t enjoy doing.