Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: People who try to acquire more than one skill are more likely to become successful than people who just focus on one skill?

All creatures rely on certain skills to survive in the world. Human beings are not exceptional. There are no other creatures on the earth able to compete with us regarding the number of skills mastered. A controversy, however, has been existing for centuries between people full of various talents and people who concentrate only on a single specialty. Some attach greater benefits to the general education and admire figures like Aristotle, while others lay more emphasis on focused study. There is no universally agreed upon ideas whose opinion is superior to another’s, but rather that those who are equipped with various skills and proficient at a certain field in the meanwhile are more likely to success.

On the one hand, there are many basic skills that anyone who dreams of a bright future ought to be equipped with. Among them are cooking, washing, speaking, reading, writing, and so forth. All those basic skills lay a fundamental for individual father development. Without those skills, one will have difficulties even in living on, not to mention success. How can you expect an illiterate person who wears mess clothes, speaks a mouthful of dirty words to success? Impossible! Another skill I want to highlight is the second language. Almost all modern citizens are able to use a second language, which serves as an evidence of its great importance. Although I don’t major in English, the ability of speaking and writing English definitely provided me more opportunities to pursue success in career and to make more friends. After all, it does no harm to acquire as many useful skills as you can.

In addition, acquiring a large number of skills has once made certain individuals a great success. A case in point is associated with Aristotle, the ancient Greek philosopher. He researched on all scientific fields that existed at that time and contributed greatly to most of them. As a result, his combined works constitute a virtual encyclopedia of Greek knowledge. But, this has become history.

On the other hand, it is a wise choice today to select a single promising specialty and dive into it. After dozens of centuries of accumulation, especially in an era of knowledge explosion, no one can master all the skills and knowledge human has deposited. Aristotle-like marvels are not going to happen again, because being an expert even in one realm often takes a person several decades. But fortunately, being proficient at a single field, of course on top of mastering compulsory living skills, is more than sufficient to ensure success. To illustrate this, I want to cite an example of William, one of my schoolmates. He was hired by Google after graduation, as a result of his brilliant skills in C++ programming. What’s more amazing is that C++ is the only one programming language he mastered. Now, he always boasts his pleasing life in Bay Area. You won’t believe what concentrating on one skill can bring to a person.

With reference to the subjects mentioned above, there should be no prejudice against either of these two attitude towards learning skills. As far as I’m concerned, both a well capture of all kinds of basic skills and the domination in a certain realm is prerequisites for success.