Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Printed books have had greater effects on society than televisions.

Since the dawn of civilizations and invention of writing, books play significant role in societies. On the other hand, one of the most important milestones of recent decades is the advent of television. A controversial question which is often raised regarding these two methods of communications is related to their impacts on societies. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that books play more crucial role; while others look at this debate through a different lens, and assign more value to televisions. Personally I am more in agreement with latter one. In the following paragraphs, three conspicuous reasons will cogently substantiate my perspective.

The most significant reason is that now days TV is everywhere. Almost certainly you can find one not only in every house, but almost in all places of work, and that equals with possibly billions and billions of TV in all world. The same is not true for books. The number of available copies of each book all around the word in best conditions is not more than few millions. You can see this around yourself, even in your home. I am almost one hundred percent sure you have one (or in my case and perhaps many more cases, more than one) television set in your home, but do you have one copy of every books too? The answer will be a definite no. it is practically impossible. Even the Congress Library has not accomplished this task, yet.

Another reason which deserves some words here is the especial nature of TV that makes it a multifunctional tool, unlike books which in most cases just address one or few interdependent topics. It is unconventional to see a book that in each chapter deals with different issues. Actually in most circles this is a sign of unreliability. Most authors prefer to stick to specific frame to avoid this kind of branch jumping. So a reader who is looking for different types of information must allude to a number of different books. On the other hand, variety of programs is the distinguish point of a good TV channel. The directors of TV channels always try to add various flavors to their daily programs. In a survey that was conduct in Denmark, the data collected from 10 top TV channel showed their daily schedule of broadcast programs include news, sports, documentaries and educational programs in addition to television series and movies and a whole bunch of other programs. So a normal audience can gain different and diverse information just from on single TV set.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind, and that is the ability of all level of society and all people to use television. Using the TV is not limited to having special training or certain level of education or particulars means. For instance even illiterate people have no problem when faced with one, but you cannot claim the same for books. Here the most fundamental prerequisite is the ability to read. Hence, automatically the illiterate part of societies is removed from the equation.

All the aforementioned reasons lead me to the conclusion that in modern societies televisions have greater impact and effects than books.