Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at people’s attitudes toward the use of the Internet brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether governments should offer free Internet access to all citizens like other important services such as road construction. Although some people assert that the Internet is necessary and its advantages help all citizens to improve their quality of life, I am against this opinion and believe that its cons exceed its pros.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that a country is made of people of different ages and personalities, which makes it hard to control the negative impacts of it on young adults. To be more specific, parents struggle to raise their children even when children do not have free access to the Internet, and if the government makes it unlimited, parents cannot observe their offspring’s behaviors when they browse all the websites that are willing to. It is a critical issue for society since the children are the future of each country, and if they do not behave well, the next generation will be more likely to participate in criminal activities. Therefore, it is not logical to provide unlimited Internet access for all people, particularly youngsters.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that the Internet needs a lot of frameworks and maintenance, which is costly for the government, and it is not economically frugal for politicians to devote huge amounts of money for something that is not necessary. To delineate, most countries encounter a tight budget, and they have to allocate their available fund for more significant projects such as education and healthcare. Recent studies conducted at Georgia State University, department of finance, show that people are more concerned about the unemployment rate and ask the government to solve this issue rather than spending money on unnecessary projects that only satisfy rich people.

Admittedly, access to the free Internet has some benefits that nobody can deny. Even poor people can watch their favorite movies and surf websites wherever they are without any problem. However, I still claim that even though it reduces financial burdens on poor people’s shoulders, it is not worth enough to justify its cost for the government. As a matter of fact, its benefits cannot vanquish its harms.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I highly recommend people not to compel the government to offer free Internet. Having access to unlimited Internet gets society into trouble, which is irreversible.