Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Reading fiction (such as novels and short stories) is more enjoyable than watching movies. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

Nowadays, many books both fiction and nonfiction are being played into films. There are many cases where one finds himself or herself having a book and its movie at the same time. To some, it's a hard decision to make, whether to watch the movie or read the book as all contain the same story. The best choice varies from one person to another. In my point of view, I prefer reading fiction to watching movies.

First of all, reading fiction increases the suspense in the story. While reading a book, there is something about not knowing who the characters are what makes the story even more interesting. It arouses one's curiosity about what is going to happen, how is this going to react? Although the person watching a movie can also get curious, it won't be the same curiosity as that of a book reader because he or she is imagining a lot of things boosts up the suspense of the story, as a result, the story gets more interesting. For example, there is a book called "To all the boys I have loved before." It has a movie. I watched the movie before I got to know that there existed its book. While watching the movie, I was interested and hooked since the beginning because it really is a good story, however, I can't compare this feeling to the one I had while reading the book. I read the book after watching the movie, but still, I was captivated by the story in the book as if I had not seen the movie. From that, one can conclude that reading fiction is way better than watching a movie.

Moreover, when one reads fiction he or she gets more out of the story than he or she can while watching the movie. This is true. Whenever one reads a fiction book, one gets to deeply see in the minds of the characters, especially when it's written using the first point of view in the main character's perspective. One gets to understand clearly why he or she does this and not that, why he or she reacts this way and not that and many other detailed questions that one asks himself or herself while reading a book or watching a movie. There may point details that a fiction book reader captures that a movie watcher can't get. For instance, my two friends Cadette and Bertine love stories. Cadette likes to read them while Bertine watching a movie to get the story. One day, Cadette read the book called "Me before you" by Jojo Moyes while Bertine watched its movie. When each finished they started highlighting their most interesting parts of the story. Then abruptly, Bertine said that she did not catch why John committed suicide at the end, then Cadette went on to explain the reason he did because that information was shown in John's thoughts in the book. This shows that as one reads a book, there are various little crucial details he or she gets that the one watching the movie does not get.

In a nutshell, even though the choice varies from person to person, I prefer reading fiction to watching a movie. The reasons are: one gets more out of the story while reading it than while watching its movie and it also boosts the suspense of the story which makes it even more interesting than sitting for around two to three hours watching a movie of the same story.