Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

Nowadays, there is a wide range of debates whether the media are less concerned about the accuracy of news or not. In my opinion, the media like newspaper, TV, and the internet care more about the accuracy of news. I find this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the ensuing paragraphs.

To begin with, due to the progression of technology, people have great access to the media. In fact, large numbers of users in this field have caused an extreme competition among various types of media. Therefore, they know that if they transmit an incorrect news, people will no longer confide in them. An example will illustrate this viewpoint much better, as I remember, last year, a shopping mall had been fired in our town, all types of the media covered the news relating to the fired shopping mall. One famous website transmitted a false news about the cause of the fire. It was completely incorrect. As a result of transmitting false news, people did not follow their website. For this reason, because of competition aspects of the media, they should care about the accuracy of news.

Second, nowadays, people are experiencing the better lifestyle. In fact, they are really knowledgeable, mature enough; therefore, they easily understand what is true and what is not true. On the other hand, people living in the past were not mature and educated enough to understand the accuracy of the news, for this reason, it is easy to media to manipulate or change the accuracy of news. For example, when I was an undergraduate student, I had a part-time job at university campus magazine as a reporter. As I remember, one time, I had interviewed the chief editor of the magazine, who is working for 30 years in our magazine, about the ratio of complaint of students about the accuracy of news. He told me that, the ratio of complaints are not comparable to the past. Also, he told me that we check the accuracy of news several times before publishing. As a result, the more people will be knowledgeable and well-educated, the more the media are concerned about the accuracy of news.

In conclusion, no one can deny the concern of the current media about the accuracy of news. Not only do they care more about the accuracy of the news, but also they try more to show correct news in order to survive in the competitive world of the media.