Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more interested in politics today than before.

It is normal that some people are interested in a particular thing and others don't. Same as politics. Some students are interested in politics and some don't. But considering the overall population, I would like to say that students now care more about politics than before for a couple of reasons.

Students have much more means to receive informations compared to before. Thank to the prospering technological advance, mass media has more ways to bring news to the public. Newspapers, television programs, radios and the most powerful Internet have enable them to get access to what their government is doing every moment. For example, nearly every student own a smart phone right now. And no doubtly they spend a lot of time on surfing the internet by using their phones. They can not only read news when they ride a bus to school, but also pick up a news channel during break time. As they have more contact to the news, they would more likely to be interested and participate in politics.

On the contrary, some students would say that as they know more about the political news, they become less interested in politics. Because among all the information mass media has provided to students, negative aspects of politics also become more evident too. Students would not be surprised with political scandals but consider them as ordinary issues, and they can also feel a sense of corruption of their government in some news too. Owing to this fact, some students claim that they often become desperate to their government and want to be away from it.

Nevertheless, I would rather consider this phenomenon as students are actually care more about politics. It is because they have show interests in politic so they can have feelings about it. For example, my roommate always complains about how inefficient and impractical our government is, but she still watch news and keep an eye on what's happening in our society everyday despite all the negative informations she received.

To sum, I would like to agree with the statement that students are more interested in politics than before.