Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In general, people think that teachers are more likely to influence students. They support that teachers are able to guide them to follow right way in an early age. However, the notion does not reflect the stance that I hold and should be not thought about in a different light. I believe that students tend to be more influenced by their friends because they are able to learn how to cooperate with others and relieve their stress.

First of all, students are able to improve their ability to cooperate with others by their friends. To be specific, as modern society is becoming complicated, tasks that should be done also are complicated. People should collaborate within their group in order to solve their problems, finish their projects and so on. Without this ability, people could not survive in today’s competitive world. They can learn this better by sharing their time with their friends. For example, when I was in university, the university requires me to do graduation project which is huge projects for me. However, at that time, I had no member to do this and visit my academic advisor to solve this problem. It was not helpful for me because he just told me study for this project. Therefore, I had to find another ways to do this. That was to collaborate with my friends and share our knowledge. Eventually, I could finish my graduation project with my friends’ help, not by teacher’s advice. Thus, this shows that teachers would not influence their students than their friends because they could not improve their ability to cooperate with others.

Moreover, students are able to relieve their stress. In other word, in the globalized world, a great deal of companies requires people to do a lot of tasks without consideration about people’s life. It is very stressful for people, which push students to learn a lot of subjects. It is true that teachers are able to teach a lot of things; however, they could not make their students being happy. Friends are able to relieve their cumulative stress, which allows people to maintain health and relieve their stress. It should exist because without this, people could not enjoy a better quality of life. For instance, I was a member of laboratory and stayed with the professor who is my academic adviser. He pushed me to do a lot of projects, which made me being stressful. However, sometime I went out with my friends in order to relieve stress. It was only happiness at that time. As a result, friends are likely to more influence people because they are able to relieve people’s stress.

To sum up, I believe that students are more influenced by their friends because they are able to learn how to cooperate with others and relieve their stress. Consequently, the importance of my views cannot be underestimated in that it can kill two birds with one stone for the reasons I have mentioned above. All in all, this trend will probably continue for the next generations.