Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students, not teachers or administrators should be in control of their own education.

In the last couple of years, the school systems all around the world were criticized that students were not sufficiently prepared for today’s complex world. This led to the discussion whether students should have the possibility to schedule their own education. In my opinion, school administrations and teachers should have the power to decide about the education of the students. I feel this way for two reason, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, most of students have not the foresight to decide which subjects will fit the needs of our fast-paced world. Today’s world is changing rapidly into a highly complex world, where subjects, such as mathematics, physics and informatics, will be necessary to understand it. However, if students could choose their own education, many of them would avoid these complex subjects. For instance, during my high school period, one of my friends hate the subject mathematics. If he had the possibility to drop this subject, he would immediately have done that. However, he is currently working as an apprentice at the “Deutsche Bank”. If he had dropped such an important subject during his high school time, he would have lacked now the basic laws of mathematics to work in the finance sector. For this reason, students should not be in control of their own education.

Secondly, teachers and administrators have the most experience. They went through a comprehensive training to learn theories of education and thus they know best how to educate students. As professionals in their field, they are also more capable of picking the right subjects to prepare the students for their future. My own experience is a compelling example for this. In my sixth grade, I had the possibility to choose between a scientifically orientated track and a more language orientated track. At first, I was almost ready to choose the language orientated track, since my best friends chose this track. But my mathematics teacher consulted me to choose scientific orientated track, since she was sure that I would enjoy more scientifically orientated subjects such as physics and chemistry. Now I am an electrical engineer with an unimaginable passion towards science. Accordingly, teachers and administrators should have the power to decide.

In conclusion, I strongly believe, that teacher and administrator should have the full authority to decide about the education of their students. This is because, students have not the needed maturity level and the foresight to decide about education and because, teacher and administrator are more experienced to pick the best for their students.