Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Teachers should be paid at least as much as doctors, lawyers or business leaders are paid.

Teachers play important roles in society. They foster the new generations and have a huge effect on children's mindset and development. Some people argue that they should be paid as least as much as doctors, lawyers or business leaders due to their commitment to the society. However, I agree with this statement for the following reasons.

First of all, teachers play an important role in the society, however, they haven't received the money they deserved compared to their great commitment to the society. Teachers play an important role in the students' development. In Chinese culture, teachers are even regarded as students' father. They teach us the knowledge to help us be competitive in the society. They educate us about integrity such as being an honest and responsible person so that we won't make some huge mistakes in the future. They comfort us when we fail our exam, helping us to walk out of the frustration. However, their pay is sometimes so poor compared to doctors or lawyers. It is true that the salary should be paid according to the ability, responsibility and workload. However, teachers, sometimes work from 8 am to 9 pm, preparing for class until midnight and squeezing their mind to think about how to improve students' grade, pay the same amount of time and effort as doctors or lawyers but end up earning less of them. The reason is that people give high priority to those people and value teachers less. It is quite unfair to them and it is preferable to increase the overall payment to those committed hard-workers.

In addition, there are huge short of teachers' supply and payment overall increment can serve as an incentive to attract more undergraduates to be a teacher in the future. In China, only a small amount of people will choose to be a teacher in the future. They think teachers are low-paid jobs but have a lot of workloads. They can be extremely busy and stressful sometimes, especially when the last year of the high school, facing the college entrance exam. However, if teachers salary increase and are up to the salary of lawyers and businessman, more and more people will be willing to become a teacher no matter how hard it is. Salary is always an important factor of the job decision. As a result, many talents will be attracted to the education industry and enhance the level of education as well.

Some people may argue that increasing the payment of teachers, especially public school teachers, will lead to the increase of tax, which is already very high. This new policy will put too much burden on the tax-payers. However, if we think from another perspective, things will be different. Nowadays, in order to make our children be competitive in the society, parents always sign up a lot of extracurricular class for children, helping them with math or some other classes. However, if we could increase the salary of teachers, more experienced and competence teachers will be encouraged to work in the school and then improve the quality of the class. If students can receive good enough class in the school, parents will not bother to send their children to the extracurricular class, which actually puts too much strain on students and harms the relationship between parents and children as well. Actually, they will save money because they don't need to pay for the off-campus classes. Students can have more time to pursue their interest as they don't need to spend their time rushing between the extracurricular class. Therefore, it is a win-win situation for children, parents and teachers.

Of course, it is not practical to raise all teachers' salary suddenly. However, we can gradually raise the average salary to at least the same level of doctors, lawyers and businessman. There are still some differences due to the personal factors. Whereas, it is very important to raise teachers' overall payment due to their big job responsibility, the unfair treatment currently and the cost-saving effect.