Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Technology has made children less creative than they were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Surviving, and more importantly succeeding, in the increasingly complex world requires us to have several factors: creativity, talent, diligence, sheer determination, to name a few. Among those, the creativity is accounted as a very important factor of successfulness. If we want to have successful children in their future careers and educations, developing creativity should be considered as the main preference from their childhood. But what does make new technology with a sense of novelty and creativity? Some believe that it is strongly harmful while some believe that it will help to growth creativity in a more efficient way. Personally speaking, I agree with the latter.

It can be clearly seen that the growth rate of technology has been greatly improved than the past. New inventions associated with high technological devices and also the advent of many conceptual ideas which have the ability to be realized, conspicuously show that today's technology not only have not negative effects on the inventors of the previous generation of human beings, but also helped them to increase the creative abilities; otherwise, we were not able to observe such a great development, nowadays.

The most important underlying reason of critics about the question is that since the technology prepares many things ready for us, children are used to not try to obtain those things anymore and in this way, technology made children's minds lazy and inactive. Take as an obvious example, stated by critics, calculators ease our expensive calculations while they make our minds unable to calculate even simple calculations, finally. I would believe that the criticism does forget that the way we use the objects returns to our learning. If children be taught to use calculators for expensive calculations, not for daily matters, it will not deteriorate minds. It is not able to find anything purely advantageous or disadvantageous in the world. Like everything, technology is a double-edged sword that should be treated cautiously.

From a different perspective, it is possible to consider new technology as a tool to escape us from the useless chores and provide us more time to focus on main interests. Today's technology provides us powerful computers, thereby; it has been possible many hypothetical assumptions to be verified. For example, I have recently heard that two physicians from Sweden have been verified one of the Einstein theories, helping by super computers. In fact, the new technology has removed many of limitations that people faced in the past and eased the way of creativity. In addition, it is no longer requires to spend a long time for household chores because technology brings us many digital and electronic appliances to ease our livings and pay more attention to our dreams and ideas.

To sum it up, although technology is like a double-edged sword, it can be effectively taught how to use and applied in many aspects of our lives without deteriorating children's creativity.