Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that television advertising directed toward young children, between the ages of two to five years old, should not be allowed. I present in the following paragraphs some reasons why I agree with that idea.

First, young children cannot distinguish advertising from entertainment. While watching some cartoon or another show on the television they do not identify what is the show and what is the break for the advertising. Almost all the advertising directed toward for this public come with light colors and jingles songs. That is a replay of the same strategy used by cartoons and TV shows to catch their attention. For example, I was with a friend Karina and her daughter Alice at the store just buying some soap and hygiene products. While choosing the soap, Alice asked if they could buy a different soap this time, which seemed just a normal question for Karina and me at this point. Like Karina, I had never heard about this soap brand before, so Karina asked her why she wanted exactly this brand. Alice's answer was a surprise jingle song about how the soap cleans all the body and put out all the dirty and bacteria. Karina told me after that day that during Alice's favorite cartoons the TV channel showed the soap advertising at all the break times. Alice was influenced by the soap advertising without even notice that. She could even mix the cartoon song with the soap's jingle song during the day while distracted doing something else.

Second, children at that age can learn from the advertising to value things and behaviors in a wrong way. Young children are learning with everything that they have contact. When an advertising directed toward to them includes the message "you need that", in an explicit or an implicit way, children can understand that it is a necessity that they have. For instance, I can remember an advertising when I was a child, which a little boy showed his scissors of a cartoon character while saying: "I have this but you do not". The boy said it for many times during the whole advertising. I had this scissors. I am sure that it was the only time that I choose a scissors to use at school. It was important for me that no one could said to me the same thing as the boy was saying in the advertising. Of course, I did not understand that the advertising was not only inducing me to choose the scissors but was giving me the value that it is not good to be the one that does not have what the other has.

In conclusion, I believe that advertising for children should not be allowed. Children cannot distinguish advertising from entertainment. They do not understand when they are making a decision induced by the advertising. Worse than that, young children learn with every new information they get and the advertising can teach wrong value to them.