Do you agree or disagree the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

A controversy is often raised about the ethics of broadcasting advertisement towards young children. Some groups of people hold the view that advertisement does not harm children. However, some others may hold an opposing view and feel that targeting advertisement to young children may indeed harm children. In my vantage point, I concur with the later and point and provide three reasons of support.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that advertisement rib parent's money, Many parents complain of the expensive toys being advertised. In fact, Children do not distinguish that both toys are exactly identical. However, because children watch the advertisement, they become interested of buying the one being advertised. For instance, there are many dolls available in the market, however, because children watch the barbie advertisement, they refuse to buy any other brand but barbie.

The second point which is worth giving it some thought is the time children waste on watching these advertisement. Children can make better use of their time reading a story or playing games. While some parents feel that there is no harm of watching advertisement, I strongly believe that the time wasted can be capitalized on improving children's other skill like hearing a story, or exercising in the fields. A vivid example to illustrate my point is time my child spend on watching these advertisement. It is crystal clear that children are not only wasting their time, but also learning bad habits.

Although the aforementioned reason are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reason available. In fact, there is another subtle point available. The noteworthy refreshing, intelligible study published in the Journal of pediatrics which concluded that children are more likely to learn bad eating habits as they watch TV advertisement. The study was conducted on 120 children of different age to prevent any bias.

Finally contemplating all the aforementioned reasons one soon realizes that TV advertisement does not only drain the parents pockets, but also encourages children to be more materialistic which is a bad habit that is hard to get rid of as they grow up.