Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take a history course no matter what field they study in

In today's convoluted world, universities play a major role in students' progress. Hence, taking a history course can be a controversial topic among all students. I strongly agree that students should be obliged to take the history course regardless of their major. In what follows, I will pinpoint the most irrefutable reasons.

To begin with, students are allowed to increase their knowledge and expand their horizon by taking a history course. To elaborate on, history is full of a host of informative and instructive events which student knowledge will be improved by having more information about them. Hence, suppose that students want to make a decision about their lives, under this circumstances, they have access to a great deal of information by studying the past. Accordingly, not only do their time will be saved, but also many detrimental events could be predicted. For example, by investigation all facets of World War Two, people understand that a war can have many negative outcomes, and therefore, if a war is going to rise, they can refer the cause and effect of previous war and try to stop it. As a result, by the knowledge that is acquired through the taking history course, any predictable problems can be managed effectively by mitigating its negative effects.

Apart from increasing knowledge and information, the second debatable point is that some people believe that a bunch of students' time will be wasted and it is highly recommended that they focus on their main course. However, others believe that taking a history course provides an opportunity for a student to have a discussion during the class resulting in boosting their interpersonal skills and improving their self-confidence. Therefore, I take the former point with a pinch of salt and claim that the latter viewpoint is more favorable and brings them more benefit. Thus, I do believe that the more student participates this class, the more they can get familiar with a different view and attitude, and finally, there will not have any problem in their future lives because having strongly ability to make friends. By way of illustration, according to the survey conducted by the University of Tehran, those students who take history course will be successful in their future challenges owing to being a person who does not any difficulties to make friends with others. Consequently, taking a history course, not only do not waste their time but also it helps them to learn interpersonal skills.

To wrap it up, by considering all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes the positive importance of taking a history course on student performance at university or even their future lives. For this reason, In the first place, they are able to increase their knowledge in order to avoid making mistakes, and in the second place, they can learn a lot of things during the class which improves their self-confidence and interpersonal skills.