Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Telling the truth or lying is a very common problem in life. Every person has faced such dilemmas during his or her life. Although some believe that telling the truth is not always the best option, I completely agree that truth and honesty is the best policy. Telling untruth ruins our relationships and eliminates our self-esteem.

To begin with, I agree that being honest is the best decision. When I tell a lie, I would often feel that someday the truth will be emerged. Therefore, I will not only feel stressful, but also have to remember my lies and keep up with my concocted stories. If we keep doing this for a long time, we are going to lose our own voice, which is not good for our self-esteem.

Besides such negative effects on our personality, telling lie will lead to more lies. When you say a lie to avoid a critical situation, some times later, you might have to tell another lie and so on. Lies engender lies. Living like this, people will soon understand; and then you'll be treated as social outcast. Telling lies mars your self-confidence and no one will trust you anymore. There is a good quote worth citing here: I'm not upset that you lied to me, I'm worried that I can't believe in you anymore.

What's more, having looked at this issue from this perspective, I want to analyze it from a distinct point of view. Sometimes being straight may seem rude and hurt the people around you. There is such thing as White Lie. For example, I can say to my friend that his birthday party cloth is terrible, but I would rather acclaim him and saying that this is the most beautiful dress I've ever seen. Being sensitive is highly valued, although honesty is admirable too. All in all, not telling the truth might seem a good approach in some situations; nevertheless, honesty is my line of thoughts.

Taking all the above-mentioned points into consideration, the following conclusion may be drawn. Each person has experience a situation in which he or she tempted to tell a lie rather than the truth. Some lie easily and some others prefer to be honest. From my vantage point, being honest is necessary, because it reinforce our relationship, enhance our self-confidence, and improve our self-esteem.