Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I guess, it has long been a controversy among teaching experts about the importance of sports and social activities. As far as I am concerned, it is imperative for students to have sports and social activities at universities and colleges, however we should ascertain the importance of these activities. After pondering it from several aspects, I think we should not spend equal financial support to sports and social activities.

The first plain reason that I should mention is that universities and colleges are designed to teach people the things that they cannot obtain in society. However, sports and social activities can be learnt during someone`s life. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light to this point, I remember when I was in high school, I was working in my father`s office; It really helped me to improve my communication skill with more than any classes that I had in my school.

The second reason for my propensity is that universities’ reputation are based on the books and professors that they have not their sport teams or Stadiums. By this, I mean, imagine a university which has a very big library hall with high-speed computers and up to date books. I am sure, this is not something that hard working students ignore when they want to choose a university.

Last but not the least, if considering the sport as important as classes be the policy of a university, it will encourage the students to spend more time on sports and social activities which is not the purpose of university; For instance, according to a research which was conducted by one of the most reputable universities in my country, university`s policy shape the way the students think about spending their time in university.

To conclude considering the above reasons, universities are designed to teach students things that they cannot learn in outside of university. The reputation of universities are based on libraries and classes not sport equipments. And more importantly, the university should encourage students to spend more time in libraries by giving more money to libraries and classes.