Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to

I believe young people are making more independent decisions compare to their counterpart in the past. In my opinion, education and communication technology contributed to this independence and social structure is also force young people to be autonomous.

In the recent years, educational systems provide a common ground for young people in each country to become independent. These systems taught other's experiences through different books and courses. By understanding these experiences they can predict the result of their actions so they can make more plausible decisions. For instance, they learn that people with higher education have achieved a higher salary and as a result, they can decide whether it is worth it to go to university or not. In addition, education can help them make a better decision in wider areas while parents help to make a decision is limited to a specific area which is not enough in today's world.

Another point is that in recent years communication technology has provided a tremendous help to individuals including young people. Young people can search their situation and see if other people had the same problem and use their reactions as a model in their life. For example, once I decided to apply for a foreign university my parents could not help me much with choosing a university, but using Internet I could find several groups which listed each universities' pros and cons. As a result, I could decide what university offers a better curriculum.

Finally, features of modern world force young people to be autonomous. For example, families are no longer nucleus as past families and young people might not have access to their parents. There are many people who live in another city because of their university. In addition, we have young individuals whose parents left them behind in their early age. These features or one can say problems of modern societies actually prevent young people from parents dependency.

Overall, young people became less dependent on their parents help because they know more than their last counterparts. Additionally, technology helped them indeed to access more people besides their parents.