Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The monetary issues are the most important things in everyone's life, and children should be advised to have a plan for their future careers. Nowadays, some parents believe that children should choose their jobs, but it is precisely the opposite of what I think.

The first reason is that such thoughts were prevalent in the past and today are not popular among youths. Many years ago, many people worked on the market, and children are taught the same jobs from the early ages of youth. Also, the types of jobs were severely limited, e.g. there were not jobs related to information technology, communication and so on and almost jobs were not related to education. In contrary, nowadays roughly half of professions are linked to the children education. Children can freely choose their fields of interest and pursue their studies in graduate school. Before choosing majors, students are guided by consultants to determine which field is the best for children and in which area students are most talented. It can be seen that the living conditions are much different from the past and children should not be advised to choose their parents' jobs as before.

The second reason is that today many factors influence on selecting a career like salary, workplace environment and so on. It is probably that the parents' jobs are not enough paid as other jobs; under these circumstances, why children should choose their parents' jobs? What's more, an individual workplace environment may not be compatible with a child. If the child were compelled to accept that job, he/she would lack any motivation and would be reluctant to do his/her duties perfectly. For example, my father who had a fast food strongly recommended me to join him in his fast food. Although, its income was high but working in a fast-food was not what I imagined as for my future career. I liked to continue my academic goals and get my Ph.D. in aerospace engineering, so I rejected my father's recommendation. My personal experience clearly shows that compelling children to choose the parent's jobs is not a good idea.

In the light of the aforementioned details regarding the presented issue, I am of the opinion that choosing the same parents' jobs is not a perfect scheme. In fact, students should be allowed to choose their interested job freely.