Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for the students to learn concepts and ideas than it is for them to learn facts.

Since the beginning of this century, in the distinctive civilized societies, it has been a controversial argument among individuals, through which numerous conflicts have been engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that learning facts in school is more imperative than learning concepts and ideas, while others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all opposite attitudes, I strongly concur with the idea that learning concepts and ideas is a must. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored as follows.

First and foremost, learning concepts and ideas helps students found a framework of thinking. I realize that some people would disagree with me; however, this is my viewpoint that not only do concepts and ideas broaden one's knowledge but also they enhance the creativity of that individual. As a matter of fact, I believe that school subjects in terms of concepts have a lot in common. Therefore, by learning a few principles one will be able to combine his/her knowledge of different academic subjects.

In addition to creating a framework for thinking, there are copious facts that school would not be able to cover all of them. Despite concepts of every school subject that are few, there are so many facts that curriculum cannot include them. To illustrate, if a literature teacher teach students what is symbolism, they would be able to discover symbolism in too many classic novels on their own. However, the teacher would not be able to mention all the symbolism examples in novels.

Furthermore, a former student will not be able to remember all the facts that he/she learned in school due to their abundance; however, he/she can recall most of the concepts that he/she learned in school. From my personal experience, I am able to remember that the teacher of my creative writing course taught me how to construct the plot of a story. On the contrary, I am not able to recall most of the facts that he discussed about in the class.

Apart from the points made above there is also another reason that deserves some words here. That is, to learn facts, one must know the basic concepts or ideas behind it. As a case in point, one should comprehend the primary concepts of physics such as gravity in order to be able to utilize them for solving problems. If one did not understand a concept, he/ she would not be able to fathom the facts relevant to that concept. For instance, I could not realize the basic logic behind algebra, so I had difficulties in learning the equations.

By way of conclusion, based on aforementioned arguments I am in favor of the statement that it is essential for students to perceive concepts and ideas rather than facts. Since it would broaden one’s knowledge, make learning the facts easier for him/her, needs less effort to recall.