Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for student to understand the ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

When studying at school, students are forced to understand the arduous ideas and concept, sometimes students feel baffled about the concepts and ideas. These students do not really understand the ideas and concepts, however in order to pass the quiz students just learn facts and ignore the ideas and concepts. In my view, I agree with this statement for the following reasons.

First of all, take the physics for example, the gravitation is discovered by Newton in the past and everyone take the gravitation as a fact and a common sense today. However, if the idea of gravitation is so common, why no one discover the gravitation before Newton. Therefore, to discover something unknown is more difficult to learn something already known for people. However, if we already knew some idea or concept when we encounter something unknown, we can use the idea to figure out and analyze something unknown.

In the second place, ideas and concepts lead more methods to solve problems. When people facing problems, what they have to do is find out the source rather than trap at the same place. If the problem has been found, people can use the idea or concept they learns from school to solve the problem. For example, the short circuit in the electronic circuit always cause severe problem. But if I know where the problem is, I can use the basic electronic equation to solve this problem.

The last but not the least, only learning the facts can reduce the possibility of innovation. When people want to figure out or create new thing, the idea or concept related to the thing can help them to success. For example, if a doctor want to develop a medicine to treat cancer. The doctor needs to have abundant knowledge of cancer, figure out the weakness of cancer and find the most useful way to treat cancer. On the other hand, if the doctor only know the fact of the cancer without concept and idea. The possibility to develop a medicine to treat cancer is much lesser than the doctor with the idea, because the fact can’t provide the enough knowledge about cancer.

In a nutshell, comparing learning fact with learning idea shows that learning idea are more important than learning fact. Therefore, I firmly agree with this statement.