Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To most of us, friends are just like our family. They are the ones who are always by your side through all of your ups and downs. Having old good friends is the precious gift that you can never let go. In my point of view, we should keep old friends instead of making new ones. There are two main reasons for why i stand my position: they understand us the most and it is not easy to find new ones.

To begin with, no one can understand us better than old friends. They have been with us through everything. They are the shoulder for us to cry on whenever we meet with failures. On the other hand, they are also the first people we share our happiness with. As a matter of fact, long-time friends know our secret than everyone else, even our parents. For exaple, there are strict parents that won't let their children do anything but studying, therefore, friends are the ones that those children can count on for advises on their love life, especially if they are teenagers. Long-time friends willingly hide all of your secrets, which is a true sign of loyalty, so they are worth keeping.

Moreover, in this society nowadays, it is not an easy task finding new friends who always stay true to you. Everything has changed a lot. People are not as completely honest with each other as they were before. There have been those kinds of people who make friend with others, who have higher social positions and have lots of money such as their bosses, just to take advantage of them. They think that if they are close to them they will be more likely to get promoted or to get a raise. Thus, new friends can be so deceitful that it is much better to stick with our old friends than to be on the lookout for new ones. Old friends have been with us from the beginning, since we have nothing but our bare hands. Those are our real friends, even though there aren't many of them.

Owing to all of the reasons mentioned above, i personally think that we should keep old friends. Old friends can be considered as our treasure. We ought to keep this treasure as long as we can. Of course we can make new friends too, but we have to choose wisely as well as we make sure that we don't leave our old friends.