Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, doing things they like to do, rather than doing things they should do.

Since the beginning of this century, in the distinctive civilized societies, it has been a controversial argument among individuals, through which numerous conflicts have been engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that nowadays people spend too much time on having fun rather than doing imperative tasks, while others consider this issue in a completely diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all opposite attitudes, I strongly concur with the statement that individuals dedicate less time to being entertained or having personal enjoyment. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored as follows.

First and foremost, I speculate that the rate of unemployment is increasing, so people stick to the first opportunity they see as a career. I realize that some people would disagree with me; however, in my vantage point, most of the people we daily see are working in careers that not only do not they enjoy but also they have to spend their time on getting better at them to get promotions. In fact, most of the people do not take the risk of abandoning their current job in order to pursue their dreams. Not being involved in their dream jobs, individuals spend most of their time on doing the tasks that they should do.

In addition to being employed in exhausting jobs, people have to live at exceedingly increasing prices such as, price of renting a house, buying a car, or even having fun. As a case in point, having fun today would cost one a lot. To illustrate, if one wishes to travel overseas, he/she would have to pay for too many things such as tickets, or booking a room in a nice hotel. Therefore, one should work so hard and cast some money aside in order to be able to afford the trip. Moreover, in this crazy world, people have the propensity to get more competitive. As a matter of fact, most of them would like to spend their money on purchasing some luxurious furniture, bigger houses, and faster cars rather than having fun.

Apart from the point that I made above, there is also another reason that deserves some words here, it is about the increasing rate of depression among individuals. In my perspective, if individuals spend too much time on having fun; then how come the rate of depression is increasing? In fact, I personally love my job, but before getting this job, I had to work as a waitress during my college days. Indeed, I was so depressed and angry those days. Moreover, I would have to both work and study, so that did not appear to me as an entertainment. I know lots of people who are in the same situation that I was.

By way of conclusion, on the grounds of aforementioned arguments, I believe that people spend less time on their personal enjoyment rather than essential tasks.