Do you agree or disagree with the following statements It is better to spend money on something that lasts a long time such as an expensive piece of jewelry than on something that provides short term pleasure such as a vacation

It is commonly accepted that spending money to have a short-time pleasure is wasting money and it is better to spend money on something that is viable. I disagree with this belief and think that sometimes spending money on short-time pleasures is more beneficial than spending money on viable things. My statement will be substantiated by the following paragraphs.

To begin with, at the time of buying long-lasting things we may feel pleasure but after a while, we lose our interest to them. Even more, often we do not like them after passing the time and seeing them makes us bored. My own experience is a good example of such situation. Two years ago, while I was working in Microsoft, I had saved a large amount of money. Once I decided to spend them for my pleasure. The first thought was going to an adventure tour to Africa along with my friends. The second thought was buying a modern car for myself. At the time, when I talked with my parents, both of them encouraged me to buy a modern car as a long-lasting pleasure. I followed their advice and did not go to Africa tour and bought a new car. Two months later, when my friends came back from Africa, I realized that my decision was wrong. My friends had a great time during their vacation such that they still talk about their fun and new experiences while I had chosen to buy a modern car which I was not excited on it anymore. I do know that can now buy my car to go to an adventure tour of Africa, however, in my opinion, the tour is not enjoyable because I am alone in the tour and none of my friends comes with me.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that sometimes buying long-lasting goods such as a necklace has a short-lasting effect while performing short-lasting activities such as traveling has a long-lasting effect. Take the example of buying car and going to a trip, again. While I currently dislike my car, my friends still talk about their memories during the trip. In addition, we sometimes need to do something new which greatly fresh our mind, however, spending money to buy goods cannot affect on our mind in this way. For instance, although buying a piece of jewelry might make us happy, its pleasure does not make us relax and fresh, while a trip can do it.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that spending money on long-lasting goods instead of performing activities which provide short-term pleasure is not always preferable. In my point of view, spending money to receive short-term pleasures is not wasting money due to its positive effects on our mind and memories.