Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an ongoing discussion on whether people who can sustain small circle of friends for a long time will be happier in life than people who only able to get new friends readily. In my opinion, I strongly believe that happiness of people relies on the sense of connecting with new people and developing friendships easily. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in this following essay.

First of all, the more people we know, the broader knowledge we gain, making life more fulfilling. In life, we learn a lot from people around us, and different individual has various kinds of experience that we might never know before. My personal experience is a compelling example of this point. I decided to go to an exchange program in Japan during my undergraduate study. Coming alone from Thailand, I tried to mingle with new Japanese friends promptly. I thought it would be hard for me to live with people with different language, lifestyle, and culture. However, I found that learning something new from my new friends is one of the most enjoyable experience I had ever have. My friend named Sora taught me to eat cold soba, which became my most favorite Japanese food until now. Thus, I am convinced that meeting extra new friends is one of the best ways to be happy.

Secondly, having more diverse network can help us in our career, especially in the business field. Sometimes it is needed to ask for help or for more information from others, whether those from different backgrounds or those from other locations. For example, I once was assigned to research about a housing business in the United States. At first, I had no idea how to get such information, since I was never work in that location before. Nonetheless, I met a new friend from a church I went and discovered that he used to work in real estate industry in New York City for almost ten years. After a discussion about my project with him, he offered me a contact person that I could interview for my research. As a result, I gained tremendous useful information from that person and complete the project on time.

In conclusion, I believe that gaining more new friends can make people happier. This is because new friends can give you more new experience and help you in work.