Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

The 20th and 21st centuries are characterized by all the momentous changes they made in humans' lives. In the distinctive civilized societies, one of the most perplexing questions among individuals is that whether to travel by getting help from a tour leader or travel independently. A plethora of people is in the conviction that traveling within a group led by a tour leader is the best way of traveling especially for traveling abroad, while others take a radically diverse point of view. Although both attitudes have their own merits and drawbacks, my viewpoint is that in most cases it is better to travel within a group. The ensuing explanations will further elaborate on my perspective.

First and foremost, when traveling overseas, more often than not, one does not know the language of the country, so having a tour leader is advantageous for communicating with the local people. Most of the times, tourists would like to communicate with local people and get familiar with their culture better than they already knew. In this case, having a tour leader, especially a local one, would assist so much. As a case in point, I used to be a tour leader, back in my college days, and from my personal experience, I can say that most of the tourists would like to talk, communicate, and share their thoughts and sentiments about Iran with Iranian people.

In addition, one might get lost. As a matter of fact, if one did not know the language of a country, there is a greater possibility for him/her to get lost. To illustrate, I personally met a German family that had been lost, while visiting Iran, my country. In fact, they could not speak Persian and nobody could understand them because they were speaking English. Luckily, I came across them and helped them to find their destiny.

Apart from the points that I have made above in favor of traveling within a group, there is a reason that why it is better to travel on your own, not with a group of people, which deserves some words here. That is when traveling independently, there is no need to conform to the schedule of the trip. Whenever one becomes a part of a whole, not only does he/she have to conform to the group's decision but also he/she has to obey the program schedule of the group. In contrast, when one travels on one’s own, he/ she can comfortably change his/her schedule.

By way of conclusion, on the grounds of the aforementioned arguments, I fundamentally agree that traveling within a group has more advantages than traveling on one's own does due to the fact that one can avoid getting lost, and communicate better with local people.