Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

We should pay attention to the opinions of famous people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

That famous people play an important role in our society is an undeniable fact. Unarguably, famous people contribute in our society in a variety of ways and we hear news about their life and their activities on the internet or television everyday. Some people agree that we should pay attention to the opinions of famous people; some others, however, disagree. In my perspective, I disagree with the statement and these are my justifications.

Admittedly, the opinions of famous people can be beneficial for many individuals. Looking at the life of famous and successful persons can be inspiring, especially for youngsters. Many of them find their goal in life by choosing a famous person as their role model. The veracity of this claim can be evaluated through a meticulous observation on the body of examples; if a young person is interested in sports, a popular athlete can be very inspiring. If a student is preoccupied about science and research, a well-known professor can be an excellent role model. If a youngster is passionate about art, analyzing the life and achievements of a prosperous artist can be helpful.

However, still I disagree with the statement since the information published about their life in magazines or on the internet is not always reliable. In order to make more profit and attract the public attention to their newspaper or their magazine, some treacherous businesspersons change their opinions or state them in a way that they seem interesting or surprising. What’s more, some companies build trust in their customers and manipulate them using tricky advertising strategies such as use of celebrities. For instance, a famous race-car driver might advertise a car and say “I feel my car fast”; even though the car might not be very fast, but people believe that the car is fast because of the influence of the famous person.

Moreover, well-known individuals, mostly, are one-dimensional persons and they are very biased and narrow-minded. It is rare that one find such persons rich in all aspects; being too beautiful yet selfish, too rich yet stingy, very popular yet arrogant are typical spirits of famous persons. Hence, I do not prefer to pay attention to their viewpoints and comments. I think that a person who might not be as famous as them can assist me more. For example, a poor and unknown teacher might teach me a big lesson in the class and change my life forever. Therefore, paying attention to well-known individuals, in my opinion, is not necessary.

All in all, although some sophisticated people may prove the opposite viewpoint, I reiterate that not paying attention to the opinions of famous people make a better policy. In weighing the pros and cons, the disadvantages far outweigh the benefits.