do you agree or disagree with this statement: People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who only focus on learning one skill.

We live in a world of dramatically progressing in both professions and technologies; consequently, we must be proficient in at least one skill in order to we can play a significant role in society and be prosperous. There are many people who are highly successful by mastering only one skill. However, it is undeniable point that concentrating on one skill could create a high-risk situation for a person’s future life. One argument in support of above statement is that learning only one skill might have been suitable for a person who has inhabited in fifty years ago, yet in today’s modern world, there are ample reasons that improving profoundly one ability, can impede person’s succession. Coupled with, by practicing on different skills, a person tends to have more job opportunities.

The most persuasive point is that due to advanced world, it is necessary to develop more than one skill to approach prosperity. To illustrate more, a person can deny neither the computer skill importance nor English as a second language in that they have a substantial role to thrive in other skills. For instance, if an architecture wants to reach a high position in his job, not only does he have the knowledge of his major, but also he must upgrade himself with new techniques by learning using computer software and studying scientific international magazines and books. Subsequently, he has to improve his computer and English skills in addition to architectural knowledge to succeed. Hence, at least computer and English are two essential abilities that almost all of the occupations in the world require. Additionally, if a person focuses on only one skill, he should consider the probable failure that may arise in this way. Thus, to be on the safe side, it is a better idea to develop more than one skill.

There is another factor that deserves some words here. The more developed skills, the more and better job offering. To demonstrate, imagine two person have applied for a job as an accountant, one of them has only studied accounting at university and another one not only has a degree on accounting but also on financial management. It is obvious that without considering their resume, the person who is multiskilling would take the job because he has been trained two relevant courses to work as an accountant. In another case, if a person who has different artistic abilities such as painting, dancing and interior designing immigrates to another country in order to live or study there, in addition to study there; he has more chance to find a job than a person with one of those skills. These are some examples which drive me to conclude that having several skills is a logic way to success.

In conclusion, in order to have more and greater chance to find an appropriate job, also reach the summit of succession, it is more legitimate to nurture several skills.