Do you agree or disagree with this statement:

For success in a future job, the ability to relate people is more important than studying hard in school.

Success in the future job is related to a number of factors. According to what major we have chosen and what kind of job we able to do, there are many different ability which should be considered. Personally, I believe that having good relationship is more important than studying hard to be a successful person in job. There are three main reason to show why I have this preference.

First and foremost, one of the crucially important factor that is asked about is public relation which shows the attitude of employee toward people or other colleagues. In fact, some times to relate well to people even is more important than being knowledgeable in a certain area. My personal experience is a good example in this issue. About three years ago I was applied for a job in a company that was marketing area. I was working hard and could progress sooner than I had expected. After six month, although I had lots of information about my job, the manager asked me to quit the job because I could not convince customers to buying more. So, I could not be a successful person in marketing area.

Another prominent reason is that, the first thing that in work place will be considered is workers' ability in effective relation with others. In other word, the very first thing that a person shows in job, is speaking and behaving with coworkers or boss. This ability will be affected the perception of others from both your characteristic and skills in job environment. For example, imagine a new accepted person in a company who has problem with one of coworker. If this person cannot solve the problem and find proper solution for that, the superior authority should interfere and solve the problem. This trend will affected the employer mind in negative way that he/ she cannot relate well.

Last but not least, studying hard in school or university just guaranty the higher mark but not many other skills that are necessary for working in future. Hence, trying to learn social relationship by taking part in public activities in universities and colleges has higher priority rather than getting good marks. As I mentioned before in the first example, I could not be a successful person in job, although I have had very high marks in university.

To sum up, regarding to the fact that the ability to relate well in job environment is the first thing that affects others, should be considered as more important than studying hard in school.