do you agree or disagree with this statement

the extended family is now less important than it was in the past.

With developing societies toward industrialization, the relationships between families became colorless in a way that some family members do not see each other even for years. These changes lead to in this opinion that the extended family is less important than it was in the past. I personally agree with it. There are three main reason to show why I have this preference.

First and foremost, growing population have led to changing societies more and more so that people’s lives became so complicated, therefore they have less free time to be in relationship with relatives and spend time with them. For example, I am a married woman who lives far from my family, I work and study in university as well. There are only each weekend to spending time with my husband or going shopping and doing house chores; so, there would be no free time to visit my relatives.

Another prominent reason is that, nowadays, people prefer to make decision about their relations based on their preferences not familiarity. In other words, in the past, people were forced themselves to be in relationships with their families or relatives but these days if they do not like some body, they will not visit him/her any more. For example, I have an old grandmother who is always nagging about everything, hence, I have decided not to see her anymore because she often makes me sad. So, having extended family does not mean being in relation with all of them.

Last but not least, people these days would prefer to keep their privacy more than past. In the past, especially in the culture of my country, Iran, people used to ask their families and relatives to help them to solve their problems. For example for a newly married couple always families became aware of problems and tried to help them. These days but, no body does not like other people be curious about one’s life and does not let them to know about personal affairs. As an instance, I have an uncle who is always nosy about my life, it is about ten years that I have not seen him and I am happy to get rid of his curiosity.