do you agree or disagree?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

It is undeniable that families are one of the importance in our lives which has caused heated debate over a long period of time. Their existence affects everybody in his daily lives. Depending on the personal experiences, personality type, and emotional concern, people differ greatly in their attitudes towards this issue. We find some people hold the idea that in the past the extended family were important than todays. On the contrary, others think differently. The second group believes that there is not any difference and they are as important as the past. From my point of view, I completely agree with the first group. There are countless reasons supporting my idea. In the following essay, I am in explaining some of the important ones.

The first reason pinpoints to the economic situation in today's society. Nowadays, the hard situation of the society forces people to work hardly. Most of the people have two jobs, but again with two time working they have troubles to provide all their needs. Take the taxi drivers, for instance. Their income is not suitable for four member's family; in some cases, the wife has to work, too.

Therefore, with a close look at this point, it will be clear that there is no time for them to meet their extended family.

In addition, in big cities, the far distance not only makes the people be far from each other, but also makes lives hardly. In Tehran, my city, nearly there is traffic jam every day; after work we have to drive in traffic streets and when you arrive home, you just want to rest. While it looks not important reason, but nowadays it contained as the main factor of family's separating. All your daily times spend in streets and your work, in some cases; you cannot find anything in our refrigerator because there is no time to shopping, too.

The last but not least, in today's society, friends are accumulated instead of the family. As you spend most of your daily time in your works, it is not unfamiliar that you become close them rather than your family. If you think this a little deeply, it will be common for you to see your friend more than your family members. In my own life, I can just my family twice yearly, while I am with my coworkers always in a same place. Furthermore, lets me to talk about the following point. As you know, today people go to the cities for working. Hence, some of them are so far from their family. For example, my brother lives in a town that is 36 hours distance with us. Surely, he cannot see us soon.

With a close look at what mentioned at above, we will understand the meaning of the statement. It is clear from me why nowadays extended families are so far from us? Why we couldn't see them as more as the past.