do you agree or disagree?To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Quality of education is an important factor that affects universities ranking. Although some people assume to improve education quality we should increase professors' salaries, in my opinion, it will not have the expected result. There are other effective elements, while university professors also need other things besides salary to offer higher quality education.

In a university, different elements should work properly, in order to system provide a good educational atmosphere. Professors are only one element in the system and other factors like teaching method, student performance, and universities' facilities have their own influence on education quality. Without a modern teaching method which involves students in materials, a professor cannot convey information to the students. As an example, I had problems in learning mathematics in university but after my university recruit a new professor in mathematics, my problems have solved. That happened because he was a young professor with a new teaching method who has an entry-level salary. In addition, when students are not enthusiastic enough to learn new materials, education quality will not improve because the students cannot absorb course materials. Finally, when the university does not have adequate education facility such as laboratories, students cannot learn what they taught in the classrooms, thoroughly.

On the other hand, spending more money on professors' salary only increase their individual satisfaction. However, professors actually need more research budget so they can expand their research activities and as a result, can attract competent students to the university. Without enough research budget, professors have no option other than reducing practical research and stick to simulations which reduces student understanding on their specialty. For example, students who study basic physical particles need special labs to study these basic particles or a student who study languages should have access to a good language laboratory to practice. Therefore, it seems other factors have a more prominent effect on education quality than professor's salaries.

It is my understanding that professor's salary plays a small role in education quality and other factors such as education method, students, and university facilities have a more promising effect on quality of education.