extended family

It is irrefutable that the family structure has undergone a significant change in modern society. From my perspective, in today’s world extended family does not play a critical role in people’s lives compared to the past. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will discuss further in the following essay.

To begin with, family members are more independent than the past. In earlier times, people cooperate with each other in order to meet their families’ basic needs such as food, housing, security, and so forth. For instance, extended families, especially in rural areas, share a household and run a family farm. Not only does this traditional family structure facilitate earning money, but also helps them to overcome crises by providing a support network. Nowadays more well-paid jobs are available and most of the people have a job which enables them to afford the necessities of life without the help from their family. Besides, immigrating to far cities make individuals to expand their social circle beyond their family members.

Furthermore, by advancement of technology more entertainments are available. Today people spend a lot of time watching television, going to cinema, and surfing the internet; therefore, not so much time is left for visiting their extended family’s members such as their grandparents, uncles, aunts, and so on. On the contrary, in former times amusements were restricted to extended family’s activities. For instance, when my grandparents were little, the only way to spend their free time was to play with their cousins.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that extended family is less important in modern life. This is because people live more independently now; also, various types of entertainments are accessible due to technology development.