Getting the advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting that from your peers.

It is axiomatic to say that we all need advice at one point or the other in life. However, the question regarding who to take advice from is highly controversial. Some people may hold the opinion that taking advice from peers is way better than that from older friends. Notwithstanding, there is an exponentially increasing segment of people who will maintain their stand that seeking advice from people who are older and more experienced is more advantageous. For me, I concur with the later group of people. The rationale behind my opinion will be elaborate in the trailing paragraphs.

The very first thing that came to my mind to defend my viewpoint is that older friends have gained more experience. To begin with, they have had more experience with peer group influence, jobs, admissions, marriage, you name it. But, your mates are people like you, in the sense that they may also be facing the same dilemma as well, and so, may not be able to provide any tangible advice. For example, some months ago, I had issues with my boss at work. I was in a fix - first, my boss was very harsh, I even thought her to be irrational, and second, I really wanted to quit that job, but I needed the money for my mom's medications or else, I would lose her. Then, I went to my peers who all opined that I resign, nonetheless, my neighbour, Mr Sam, advised that I stay on the job and gave me tips on how to feel relaxed while working with my employer. I applied these tips, and consequently, I not only remained in that job, I also established a smooth relationship with her, as well as received an increase in salary. But if I had adhered to the advice of my inexperienced peers, I probably would have become an orphan by now.

Furthermore, some peers could give misleading advice. I agree that some good friends could give me some invaluable advice, but those people are only found in my circle of close friends. Apart from these special people, my other peers will give me advice that could make me end up in jail, and are ever ready to laugh at my downfall. For instance, I was experiencing financial problems, thus, I went to my peers for advice. Guess what they told me? They said I should engage in pickpocketing. I initially commenced a career as an upcoming notorious thief, and was apprehended one day. After staying in jail for two days, I was bailed by that neighbour of mine, Mr Sam. Not only, did he bail me out, he also gave me the exact amount of money that I was trying to raise. Moreover, he advised me not to engage in such an act again. I mean, older friends are totally indispensable!

Finally, the advice of older friends are mostly geared towards helping me secure a better future. As an illustration, while a friend of comparable age will talk about a crush, secondary school days, and a quarrel with a parent, an older friend will talk about what university to go to, how to secure and keep a job, future life partners, how to be prepared for retirement, and so on. What I mean is this, conversation with older friends are far more profitable than those with friends within the same age bracket.

To sum up, I believe that, to a great extent, advice from older friends are more valuable when weighed against advice from peers because they are more experienced, give directive advice and lastly, converse about a better future. To this end, my older friends give better advice than my peers.