The government wants to improve the education of high school, and there are two plans:1 choose a group of good teachers and train them first, and after that let them go back to schools and train other teachers.2 provide training for every teacher online

The current challenges facing traditional teacher training have caused government to search for alternatives. I believe online workshop can be a win-win solution.

First off, the online training program ensures better quality control. If a select few teachers receive training first and then pass on to hometown peers, the government would run the risk of compromising results. They may have a great trainer to start with, but there’s no guarantee that the trainees can do the equally good job delivering what they’ve learned. Let’s assume the government hires several trainers specializing in respective fields, such as pedagogical theories, multimedia presentation, interaction skills and so forth. Ideally, trainees would take notes, imitate the model and retell lectures to peers at home. But the fact is, trainees can hardly rely on a short-period session to master what the trainers have accumulated over years of practice. Since the trainees themselves are still a work in progress, they would probably misinterpret certain points and end up presenting the content in an inaccurate way. Online workshop, on the other hand, offers standardized content with skillful trainers across the sessions, so participant won’t have to make do with the second best. This makes it possible for every teacher participant to enjoy the first-hand learning experience. So E-learning allows government to create a standardized procedure and consistency in the delivery of content.

Another benefit of online education is its accessibility and flexibility. Live learning events require that those who participate align their schedules to the training calendar. Online courses, however, give teachers the opportunity to plan their study time around the rest of their workday, instead of the other way around. They no longer have to fight traffic, find parking spaces, and leave work early to go to class or miss important family time. All of this makes online learning a good option for working professionals who need to balance their work and family commitments. Besides, teachers can study when their energy is at peak, whether that’s early in the morning or late at night. This makes it possible for teachers to learn at their own pace and in comfortable settings. Such flexibility can beat any physical class sessions.

Lastly, online programs can be a more practical option from a funding prospective. If government is responsible for physical training sessions, there would be corresponding costs: trainer and trainee commute, infrastructure rentals, utility bills and documentation costs. However, online learning has no such thing to account for. For example, there are no commuting costs, and also there is no required course material such as textbooks because those are often available for free online. Plus, the return on investment for creating an online training for teachers is much higher. With all the software tools available including slideshow and screen capture software that can record computer activities, participants can download it to their own computer and access it later for viewing. As the percentage of the tech-savvy millennials rise in the workforce, the reliance on E-learning tools maximizes learning results.

All in all, online training programs can produce better results, guarantee user satisfaction as well as bring down the costs.