Grades encourage students to learn.

It is undeniable that despite remarkable advancements in education systems, grades are still the main tool for evaluating students’ performance; but, whether the grades encourage students to learn more is a subject to debate. From my perspective, grades play a critical part in encouraging students to learn deeper. In the following essay, I will elaborate on the reasons which my view is based on.

First and foremost, the challenge of getting higher grades motivates students to study more seriously. High scores cannot be achieved unless students work hard and study diligently. My own experience is a compelling example of this. During my sophomore year at university, I was assigned a major presentation in marketing strategies class. The assignment made up about half of my total grade, so I had to do my best to achieve a high score. I wrote a cogent speech and spent hours preparing for every question my classmates might have. If the presentation had not been graded, I would have not worked so hard to do a good job.

Secondly, grades motivate students because they serve as an assessment tool for knowledge. Grades are assigned in a systematic way and clearly represent which students in a class are the best and brightest. As a result, in classes where grades are given, students will strive to succeed so they can set themselves apart from their peers. For instance, in my freshman year I took a “pass/fail” course in literature. Since only a moderate amount of effort was required to pass the class, I did not work so hard on my assignments. In contrast, when I took a graded class on the same subject in my junior year, I spent hours in library researching for papers so that I could show my professor that I was intellectually superior to my classmates. In fact, in highly competitive academic environment demonstrating your competencies is crucial for success.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that grades encourage students to learn and excel in their studies. This is because grades challenge student to study meticulously, and also they give students an opportunity to distinguish themselves from their classmates.